All prompts4Check what came back
Draft
Appeal a denied insurance claim
Turns a denial letter into an appeal that answers each stated ground in the carrier's own words, ties every rebuttal to a numbered exhibit, and makes the record you will need if this ends up in court.
What to gather first
Your prompt
2
Pressure-test it
3
Go deeper
Watch for
What comes back
See an example answer
RE: Appeal of Denial, Claim No. 2026-114772 | Policy No. HO-8842019 | Insured: Danielle Moreau, 118 Bellwood Ct. | Denial dated April 6, 2026
Piedmont Mutual denied this claim on two stated grounds. Both are addressed below, each with the supporting documentation enclosed. Ms. Moreau requests that the denial be reversed and that Piedmont issue payment of $41,880.14, the amount of the enclosed repair estimate, within thirty days.
Ground One: "Constant or repeated seepage or leakage of water." The denial states: *"Our investigation determined the damage resulted from constant or repeated seepage or leakage of water over a period of weeks, months or years, which is excluded under Section I, Exclusion 2.c."*
The exclusion does not reach this loss. The failure was a single event on March 7, 2026. Vance Plumbing's invoice of March 9 (Exhibit A) identifies the cause as a fractured compression coupling on the second-floor supply line. [If the invoice also describes the condition of the fitting, quote those words verbatim here before sending. I have your summary of the invoice, not the invoice.] Moisture readings taken March 8 (Exhibit B) show saturation confined to the area below the coupling rather than spread through the ceiling assembly, which is inconsistent with prolonged seepage. [The readings and the area they cover go here, taken off the report; the numbers carry this paragraph, not the characterization.] Ms. Moreau's affidavit (Exhibit C) states that the ceiling was dry and unmarked on March 1, six days before the failure. Piedmont's own field notes, which we request below, do not appear to identify any observed evidence of prior water intrusion.
Piedmont bears the burden of establishing that Exclusion 2.c reaches this loss. [UNVERIFIED - confirm Georgia's allocation of the burden on policy exclusions and drop the citation in before this goes out. I have not supplied one, and I will not name a case you did not give me.] On the record enclosed, that burden is not met.
Ground Two: Late notice. The denial states notice was "not provided promptly as required by Section I Conditions 2.a." Notice was given the day of the loss. Ms. Moreau's text message to agent R. Halloway, sent March 7 at 6:12 p.m. and enclosed as Exhibit D, reports "water pouring through the upstairs ceiling." The claim number was assigned March 9.
The policy language. The denial paraphrases Exclusion 2.c as covering "long-term water damage." The policy reads *"constant or repeated seepage or leakage of water... over a period of weeks, months or years."* Those are not the same standard, and the difference decides this claim.
Information requested. Within thirty days, please produce: (1) the complete claim file, including field notes and photographs; (2) the policy as issued with all endorsements; (3) the name, title, and credentials of every person who reviewed this claim and the reports each relied on; and (4) any internal guideline or bulletin applied to Exclusion 2.c.
[CONFIRM - appeal deadline and any suit-limitation period under the Piedmont policy and Georgia law before this letter goes out. The denial letter's closing paragraph should state the appeal window; do not rely on any date supplied here.]
---
Assumptions I made. That the March 1 photographs are date-verifiable [verify - metadata should be preserved]. That no proof of loss was demanded and refused [verify - check the file]. That Georgia law governs and this is not an ERISA plan [safe - stated in inputs]. The letter asserts exactly one rule of law (who carries the burden on an exclusion) and it is bracketed for you to confirm and cite; everything else in it is policy language, fact, or exhibit.
Where this is weakest. The Ground One rebuttal leans on the plumber's invoice, which is a one-line conclusion from a tradesman, not an engineer. If Piedmont retained a cause-and-origin engineer, that report will outweigh Exhibit A on its face. The late-notice section is strong and should stay short.
What only you can decide. Whether to name the unfair-claims statute in this letter. Naming it can move the file to a supervisor and signal you are serious, but it usually ends informal discussion with the adjuster and brings coverage counsel in early. Also yours: send now on this record, or spend $2,500 on an engineer and send in three weeks: stronger letter, but only if the appeal window and the suit-limitation clause allow the delay. And whether to demand appraisal instead of appealing, which resolves amount but not the coverage ground and may waive nothing you want to keep.
What would make this materially better. (1) Piedmont's cause-and-origin report, if one exists: it decides Ground One. (2) The metadata on the March 7 time-stamped photographs, which are not yet an exhibit and should be: they are the only contemporaneous image of the loss. (3) The agent's call log for March 7, which would corroborate Exhibit D independently.
Why this prompt is written this way
## Framework
1. **Inventory the grounds.** Every reason the denial states, quoted. Silence on a ground reads as a concession.
2. **Answer on the carrier's terms first.** If the denial rests on an exclusion, paragraph one is why that exclusion does not reach these facts.
3. **Exhibits, not adjectives.** Each rebuttal points to a lettered enclosure. Name what is missing rather than arguing around it.
4. **Quote the policy, not the paraphrase.** Carriers restate their own language loosely, and the restatement is often the weak point.
5. **Burden where it belongs, but not from memory.** Who carries the burden on an exclusion is a question of the governing law, not a universal. One sentence, sourced to the lawyer's authority or shipped marked unverified.
6. **Never state the deadline from memory.** Appeal windows, suit-limitation clauses, and external-review routes are policy- and state-specific, and ERISA plans run on their own clock.
7. **Ask for the file.** The complete claim file, the policy as issued, the reviewer's identity and credentials, and any internal guideline relied on.
8. **Close with the ask.** A specific sum, a date, and what happens next.